“And The Nominees Are?”

This is the latest painting I have made.  It was a commission, this chick said paint a hippo and this is what happened.  She got another larger painting from me of a giraffe in a nice grey suit called “I Dont Make Monkeys, I Just Train Em”  so Im sure this was not too out of the ordinary or weird.  I was not too sure if i was going to get a “WTF?” or an “OMG!”  when she saw it but sure enough she liked it, maybe even two OMG’s worth.  Take a look.  Its 16x34x3 inches.  I used tissue paper, construction paper and enamel on glass and made curtains out of red velvet to hang in the shadowbox.  I guess I had envisioned a hippo from some blockbuster movie at an awards ceremony…  John candy hippo

Because i paint on glass it makes it very hard to photograph.  Heres a couple close-ups to see the texture…

Here are 2 older ones that i did for a “Black Friday” group show.  I haven’t really photographed them till now so I figured I’d share.  These two are actually still for sale if interested…

And this one…

The Coffin Flower Thing is 13×13 inches.  I used enamel, spray paint, tissue paper, construction paper, dollar bills and foil tape on glass.

The Mega Moustashe Sugar Skull Thing is 15×21.5 inches.  I used enamel, spray paint, tissue paper, construction paper,  and foil tape on glass.  I added some extras to the frame and distressed it a bit.

Thanks for looking!

Leave a Reply

